Ruprecht Karls Universität Heidelberg

Thesis opportunities:

Bachelor and master thesis topics are nearly always available with me and my group.
Visit us at the research group fair AIM, on December 10, 2019

  1. We analyse data from ALICE at the LHC!
    For example, we investigate:
    • open-heavy-flavor hadrons (e.g. charmed mesons and baryons) (see the poster) and charmonia
    • light nuclei, anti-nuclei, hyper-nuclei (see the poster)
    • particle correlations
  2. We develop and operate amazing detectors! (see the poster)
    • we built GEM chambers for the largest ever GEM TPC and we study the behavior of GEM detectors
    • NEWS in 2019: we work with the ALPIDE monolithic active pixel sensor
  3. We work on a phenomenology description of hot QCD matter, in collaboration with the theory department in Heidelberg! This is done in the contect of the ISOQUANT Collaborative Research Center (see the poster)
    • fluid dynamics is used to describe the evolution of the strongly interacting matter produced in ultra-relativistic collisions (ISOQUANT C06 project)
    • ab-initio transport coefficients are used as input for the fluid dynamic evolution (ISOQUANT A02 project)
    • ZEUS data from electron-proton collisions at HERA are analyzed (ISOQUANT C06 project)
Just contact me and my colleagues :-)

s.masciocchi@gsi.de



Dr. Ilya Selyuzhenkov (ilya.selyuzhenkov@gmail.com): particle correlations and flow, spectators, hydrodynamic evolution, ISOQUANT
Dr. Andrea Dubla (andrea.dubla@cern.ch): open heavy flavors, hydrodynamic evolution, ISOQUANT
Dr. Dhevan Gangadharan (D.Gangadharan@gsi.de): particle correlations, e-p collisions with ZEUS at HERA, ISOQUANT
Dr. Alberto Caliva (alberto.caliva@cern.ch): (anti-)(hyper-)nuclei in ALICE
Sebastian Hornung (Sebastian.Hornung@cern.ch): (anti-)(hyper-)nuclei in ALICE
Michael Ciupek (michael.rudolf.ciupek@cern.ch): open heavy flavors and particle correlations in ALICE, ISOQUANT
Carolina Reetz (carolina@reetz.name): open heavy flavors in ALICE
Bogdan Blidaru (b.m.blidaru@gsi.de): detector development: GEM chambers, ALPIDE monolithic active pixels
Pascal Becht (pascal.becht@cern.ch): detector development: GEM chambers, ALPIDE monolithic active pixels



Openings

PhD position

A position is available to hire an enthusiastic PhD student, for a research program in heavy-ion physics.
Research work in form of both data analysis and phenomenology studies is possible.
Candidates with previous knowledge or a strong interest in advanced computing techniques and machine laerning will be welcome.

Interested candidates should contact me per email, prepare a short statement of research interests and indicate two potential referees.
Webmaster:
EDV Abteilung